Imo State Govt inaugurates 7-Man Cmtt for Best Journalists Award

Imo State Government on Wednesday inaugurated the 7-man Committee for the Annual Best Journalists Award, with former State Chairman of Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ), Sir Fidel Onyeneke as Chairman, with a representative of the Ministry of Information and Strategy, Mr. Kenedy Amanze, as Secretary while Sir Collins Ughalaa serves as the Media Officer of the Committee.

Other members of the Committee are
Mrs. Chinwe Asogu, Mr. Ken Njoku, Pastor Gele Agbai, and Mr. Chris Dimgba.

Inaugurating the Committee in Owerri, the Commissioner for Information and Strategy, Hon. Declan Emelumba, said that Governor Hope Uzodimma approved the Best Annual Award as a mechanism to recognise Journalists who have worked hard, encourage excellence and professionalism in Journalism, and to make the profession one that is enviable.

“When a Journalist performs at his best, following the ethics of the profession, he should be rewarded”, he said, adding that the Governor approved the Annual Best Journalists Award so as to change the narrative in the profession.

“Putting this kind of Award in place would encourage not only the recipients but all those in the profession who do their best in the profession”, he added.

The Commissioner named five categories of the Award, namely: (1) Best News Reporter of the Year (2) Best Investigative Journalist of the Year (3) Best Features/Documentary of the Year (4) Best Photo Journalist of the Year; and (5) Best Electronic Media Presenter of the Year.

He urged the members of the Committee to be upright and ensure that thoso nominated are qualified, adding that each of the categories will have the Governor’s prize.

Speaking on behalf of the members, the Chairman, Sir Fidel Onyeneke assured that the Committee would do its job diligently, without bias.

He said that the Media serves as the link between the people and the government, commending the Governor for approving the Annual Best Journalists Award, which he said would strengthen the Journalism profession.

The Chairman of the State NUJ, Chief Chris Chris Akaraonye, thanked the Governor for setting up the Committee, saying that the Award would help the Journalim profession.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: