Image default

FG inaugurates reconstituted Governing Councils to 19 Varsities: see full list

By Progress Godfrey

The Federal Government has inaugurated the Governing Councils to 19 Federal Universities and 4 Inter-University Centres (IUCs) as well as the public presentation of the new Pro-Chancellor and Chairman of Council of the Federal University of Health Sciences, Otukpo, Benue State on Thursday in Abuja.

Recall that THE SUMMIT last week, reported FG’s approval of appointment of the Councils following expiration of tenures, of some Federal Universities and Inter-University Centres (IUCs) on 8th May, 2021, to avoid any vacuum in the governance of the institutions.

The inauguration event which held at the premises of the National Universities Commission (NUC), recognized Prof. Attahiru Jega, former chairman of the Independence National Electoral Commission (INEC); Senator Victor Udo, former Minister of Budget and National Planning; Gen. Martin Luther Agwai (rtd) as Chairmen of the Governing Councils of the University of Jos, Bayero University, Kano; and University of Calabar respectively.

Among those inaugurated are: Chief Ikechi Emenike – Chairman, University of Nigeria, Nsukka; Dr Sonny Kuku – Chairman, University of Benin; Mallam Adamu Fika – Chairman, Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria; Sen. Jack Tilley Gyado – Chairman, Federal University of Technology, Owerri; Malam Abidu Yazid – Chairman, University of Ilorin; Sen Udoma Udo Udoma – Chairman, Bayero University, Kano; Prof Ahmed Mohammed Modibbo – Chairman, University of Abuja; Ballama Manu – Chairman, University of Maiduguri; Prof Anthony Gozie Anwuka – Chairman, Federal University of Petroleum Resources, Efurun, Delta state; Barr Njideka Bernedette Nwachukwu – Chairman, University of Uyo; and Alhj Bashir Dalhatu – Chairman, Modibo Adamawa University;

Others are: Ibrahim Ida – Chairman, Usmanu Danfodiyo University, Sokoto; Peter Okebukola – Chairman, National Open University of Nigeria; Prof Sulyman Alege Kuranga – Chairman, Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka; Bukar Goni Aji – Chairman, Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi; and Amb Dr. Godknows Igali – Chairman, Federal University of Technology, Akure.

The Council Chairmen were accompanied each, by members of their different councils to receive appointment letters from the Minister of Education, Adamu Adamu who handled the inauguration.

The Minister congratulated the Governing Councils having scaled through rigorous assessment and found to be worthy of the exalted appointments.

He therefore urged them to exercise the powers reposed in them without fear or favour and also to adhere strictly to the Acts that establish the institutions

He said, “You should, in particular, be guided by the Universities (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act of 1993 and its various amendments (of 2003 and 2012). You should adhere strictly, for example, to Section 2AAA of the 2003 Amendment Act which stipulates that ‘The Governing Council of a university shall be free in the discharge of its functions and exercise of its responsibilities for the good management, growth and development of the University.’

“Section 3 (4) of the same 2003 Amendment reposes on Council the power to appoint the Vice-Chancellor of the University. I urge you to exercise this power with utmost sense of responsibility and in the best interest of your Universities.”

The Executive Secretary of the National Universities Commission (NUC), Professor Abubakar Adamu Rasheed while delivering the welcome address, congratulated the previous councils having contributed their quota and significantly carried out their duties.

According to him, the Commission expects the newly inaugurated councils to partner with it in ensuring that their institution thrive to be Centres of knowledge production and the direly-needed reputational centre

Related posts

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More