Image default

Security, Human Rights Telephone Roaming, Others For Deliberation As ECOParl Delocalised Meeting Gets Underway In Ghana

By Omonu Nelson, Abuja
The meeting of ECOWAS Parliament gets underway today, in Wanneba, Ghana. A statement by the parliament explained that the Delocalised meeting is view of its deliberate efforts at finding lasting solutions to major problems confronting the region.
The meeting, expected to last for four (4) days is particularly
 targeted at seeking lasting solution to telephone roaming, peace, human rights and security in the West African Region.
It is organised with the theme: “Role of Telecommunications and Information Technology in Achieving Regional Development, Peace, Security and Human Rights.”
“The joint Committee, Political Affairs, Peace, Security and African Peer Review Mechanism/Legal Affairs and Human Rights/Telecommunications and Information Technology is steering the meeting from 27th to 31st July, 2021,”the statement explained.
The statement read in part “The aim of this important parliamentary meeting is to analyse ways and means of finding lasting solutions to the problems of telephone roaming, peace, security and human rights for shared progress in the West African region.
“The current wave of technological changes have created new opportunities for multilateral cooperation in various areas, including sustainable development, conflict prevention, humanitarian response and peace operations.
“However, transnational cybercrimes are posing serious threat to business development”
The statement further noted that threat constitutes a major concern to the ECOWAS Parliament hence, will be at the centre of deliberations during the meeting.
The Winneba meeting therefore provides an avenue for the regional Parliamentarians to discuss the opportunities, as well as the risks associated with insecure use of information and communication technologies the statement noted
The ECOWAS Parliament is composed of 115 seats. As regards the sharing of the seats, each Member State is guaranteed a minimum of five seats while the remaining forty seats are shared on the basis of the population of each country.
On the basis of this distribution, Nigeria has 35 seats, Ghana 8, Côte d’Ivoire 7, Burkina Faso, Guinea, Mali, Niger and Senegal have 6 seats each. The other countries, namely Benin, Cape Verde, Gambia, Guinea Bissau, Liberia, Sierra Leone and Togo have 5 seats each.

Related posts

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More